The Azores cover a group of 9 major islands and 8 islets called formigas and have about 250.000 inhabitants. The islands are divided in three geographical groups: the Eastern Group, which comprises Santa Maria and São Miguel (1,400 km away from the European mainland); the Central Group includes Faial, Graciosa, Pico, São Jorge and Terceira and the Western Group comprises Corvo and Flores (about 1,800 km away from the closest point of the North-American Continent).